Stefanella's Drive Thru

Israel, U.S., conflict, war, peace, humor, travel, romance, fashion, fun

Kansas It Ain’t June 1, 2008

One evening last year while I was hanging out with a few friends in a Tel Aviv mall I got a phone call.

A particularly “not good” phone call from my lawyer who was calling to share some particularly “not good” news.

I started crying right then and there and turned away from my friends. Alas, however, they picked up on my tone and demeanor. They knew I had been expecting the call.

A few minutes later I hung up and turned around again to discover all three of them speaking into their respective cellphones.  They were all on with their attorneys, trying to find out if there was anything to be done about my situation.

I’m not one to gush about living in Holy Land Central. Really I’m not. Ask anyone who knows me.

But the lasting impression from that evening has remained with me since.

Welcome to Israel, where…

1) Most friends have attorneys and

2) Friends don’t wait to be asked for help

 

2 Responses to “Kansas It Ain’t”

  1. Benji Says:

    People are so warm here it’s unbelievable. You said it, kid.

  2. Peggy Says:

    I totally agree


Leave a Reply

