Stefanella's Drive Thru

Israel, U.S., conflict, war, peace, humor, travel, romance, fashion, fun

Quotes of the Week. . . January 22, 2009

My parents back in Philly were freaking out.  I talked to my mom for the first time in three weeks today.  It was very traumatic.  But it’s over and my prayers were answered.  All I kept asking God for was to be able to see my parents again. . .U.S.-born soldier serving in Gaza since the start of Israel’s Operation Cast Lead

Mom, you’re the best most wonderful mom in the whole world.  I’d give you a shekel just to prove it but I don’t want to waste the money. . .My 7-year-old son

What happened to the good old days when you could kill people and dispose of the bodies in a field and nobody had to know anything?  Now you have to fill out paperwork, file reports and account for every single dead person!  God!  . . .Anonymous person in Tel Aviv cafe

We heard some stories in Gaza about miracles that made me think: The messiah is here.  It’s time.  It’s finally time.  The messiah has come. . .Israeli soldier at Gaza military base

“My daughters, they killed them, Oh Lord. God, God, God.”. . .Gaza physician, Dr. Izeldeen Abuelaish sobbing during a phone interview following the deaths of his three daughters and a niece after an Israeli army shell penetrated the wall of their home.

“I think this broadcast will change public opinion in Israel. . .It feels to me as if some of our audience is seeing and hearing about the high price ordinary Palestinians are paying in this conflict for the first time.”. . . Israeli television journalist Alon Ben David in an interview with the BBC after airing Dr. Izeldeen Abuelaish’s anguished phone call.

 

4 Responses to “Quotes of the Week. . .”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Heads up: the last quote was from Alon Ben-David, not Shlomi Eldar. 🙂

  2. stefanella Says:

    Okay..BBC was quoting Eldar on it…

  3. Ilene from The Big Apple Says:

    Thank you for this. It’s so interesting that you posted the quote by the doctor in Gaza. It was heartwrenching but said a lot about the difference between Israelis and Gazans during this operation … Israelis who heard this were (from what I’ve read) truly heartbroken … if the situation were reversed, I’m afraid we’d have seen reactions not dissimilar from the Palestinian reaction to 9/11 which was dancing in the streets.

  4. Quotes Men Says:

    Thank for quotes, I’ll take one for me.


Leave a Reply

