Stefanella's Drive Thru

Israel, U.S., conflict, war, peace, humor, travel, romance, fashion, fun

Until the Army April 20, 2009

My 7-year-old is doing really well in swimming.

He sailed through beginner, intermediate and advanced courses last year and has now been selected to join the city league swim team entailing twice-weekly practice training sessions.

Today was the 1st such session and when we  arrived, I had a word with the coach about vacation and how we should handle summer break.

Coach & I didn’t see eye to eye on a start date for my son.  I wanted immediate.  He favored end of summer.

“He’s now in serious training for the long haul,” coach explained.  “So what’s the rush? As I see it, I have him from now until he’s 18 when he goes into the army.”

JOLT.  I had NEVER directly correlated my son with army service in that kind of “oh it’s so obvious he’ll be going in at eighteen” kind of way.  Ever.  And here was this stranger casually linking the two.

Yes, it’s compulsory in Israel for 18-year-olds.  But MY son?  MY budding artist/swimmer?

I didn’t grow up with the concept so it’s totally foreign to me even though it’s ultra ingrained in Israeli society.  I can’t even think about it. I don’t want to.

Jolt aside, I won.  He started practice  today.

11 more years.

 

3 Responses to “Until the Army”

  1. Peggy Says:

    First of all how come you didn’t tell me this exciting news.
    Second, you won, of course you won,
    Third – yes the army. Maybe he will be a seal. (very impressive unit), though I think it would be better if he would join galai zahal… 🙂

  2. stefanella Says:

    I’ll be thrilled if he sits in an office somewhere and basic training is the furthest he gets in terms of action. He may be an objector. He has already mentioned it.

  3. stefanella Says:

    I’ll be thrilled if he sits in an office somewhere and basic training is the farthest he gets in terms of action. He may be an objector. He has already mentioned it.


Leave a Reply

